Portfolio

Wokabulary

Wokabulary icon

Wokabulary is a flash card learning app for iPhone, iPad and Mac.
As a digital vocabulary book, Wokabulary is a supplement to in-person language courses and to learning with language apps. Wokabulary support learning words of any language.

For ten years, Wokabulary has been in the charts of educational apps in the Apple App Store. A new version — fully in Swift and SwiftUI — will be released in late 2022.

Objective-C · Swift · AppKit · UIKit · StoreKit

Tincta

Tincta icon

Tincta is a text editor for the Mac. The intuitive editor can be used to write everyday notes and texts, but also contains all the functionalities for professional programming and web design.

Tincta is an open source project and can be used for free. Furthermore, the software is open for further development and reuse by other developers.

Objective-C · AppKit · TextKit

Loqbooq

Loqbooq icon

In all areas of work, decisions are important for the progress of projects and ideas. This is a particular challenge, and not just since increasing hybrid work models and globally operating teams. To make decisions collaboratively and to involve and inform everyone, we developed Loqbooq.

Loqbooq is a web application for easy and permanent logging and documentation of decisions in teams as well as with external partners and stakeholders. In order to integrate the decisions into the workflows and daily communication, there are also integrations for Slack and Webex in addition to the web app.

PHP · Laravel · AlpineJS · LiveWire · Slack API

Incipit Search

Incipit Search icon

Music search is an exciting field of research and development with different approaches. Above all, there is the question of annotation and encoding to make music searchable.

With IncipitSearch we have developed a portal for searching melodies in collections of classical music. It connects content from different music editions and libraries using metadata. The ontology “Schema.org” and the library standard “Plaine & Easie Code” serve as the underlying encoding to make the sheet music searchable. Notes are entered using a virtual keyboard or the encoding.

Developed as part of a research project at the Academy of Sciences and Literature.

PHP · JavaScript · Slim

Portal for NFDI4Culture

Portal for NFDI4Culture icon

Digitalization in science and research is taking place at many institutes and in various projects. The goal of the National Research Data Infrastructure, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, is to bundle these different efforts.

Julius supported the development of an information portal for the Consortium for Research Data on Material and Immaterial Cultural Heritage (NFDI4Culture) with backend programming using TYPO3 and collaborated with a team of researchers and a digital agency.

PHP · TYPO3 · Slim

Digital source edition on the history of social policy

Digital source edition on the history of social policy icon

Scientific collections and sources are not only published as multi-volume works, but also as digital editions. This is also true for the source collection on the history of German social policy and the emergence of the German welfare state at the University of Kassel. Anna has realized a digital edition in collaboration with other researchers and developers.

Tasks: Data processing and encoding as well as frontend and backend development with XML/XSLT, PHP, TYPO3.

PHP · TYPO3 · XML/XSLT

UpMoji

UpMoji icon

Habit trackers help us keep track of our habits and “stick to it”. With UpMoji we have developed a tally counter app to track your own habits using emoji representation.

UpMoji is implemented completely in SwiftUI and is available for iPhone and iPad.

SwiftUI · Swift · CloudKit

Macarons

Macarons icon

Team spirit is crucial to every work environment. But hybrid and remote teams don't meet accidentally at the coffee machine anymore. With Macarons we created a minimalistic coffee roulette app for Slack that automatically matches random team members for casual chat.

To get started, Macarons simply needs to be added to a Slack channel. Built-in ice breaker questions make for an easy conversation starter.

PHP · Laravel · Slack API · Tailwind CSS

Virtual tour through a UNESCO World Heritage cathedral

Virtual tour through a UNESCO World Heritage cathedral icon

To admire architecture and glorious buildings directly on site is the most beautiful experience. This is true for tourist trips, but also for science, when spatial impressions or arrangements are significant for the interpretation of sources and actions. However, it is not always possible to be on site. Therefore, we have developed a generic software for virtual tours through cultural heritage sites.

One implementation is a virtual tour through the UNESCO World Heritage Site Hildesheim Cathedral. The tour provides information about history and furnishings of the church. Developed in the context of a research project of the Academy of Sciences and Literature, the tour was also shown as part of a museum exhibition.

JavaScript · Three.js · TYPO3

Want to learn more?

Drop us a line!

Let’s have a quick conversation to find out what we can do for you.

Just write us:
team@coding-friends.com

Schedule a meeting!

Directly book a slot for a short talk:

Illustration of two Coding Friends talking to a hologram

Portfolio

Wokabulary

Wokabulary icon

Wokabulary ist eine Vokabeltrainer App für iPhone, iPad und Mac. Als digitales Vokabelheft ist Wokabulary eine Ergänzung zu klassischen Sprachkursen und dem Lernen mit Sprach-Apps. Wokabulary unterstützt Vokabeln in jeder beliebigen Sprache.

Seit zehn Jahren ist Wokabulary in den Charts der Bildungs-Apps im Apple App Store. Eine neue Version — vollständig in Swift und SwiftUI — erscheint Ende 2022.

Objective-C · Swift · AppKit · UIKit · StoreKit

Tincta

Tincta icon

Tincta ist ein Texteditor für den Mac. Der intuitive Editor eignet sich zum Verfassen alltäglicher Texte, enthält aber auch alle Funktionalitäten für professionelle Programmierung und Webdesign.

Tincta ist ein Open Source Projekt und kann kann kostenlos genutzt werden. Außerdem ist die Software offen für die Weiterentwicklung durch andere Entwickler:innen und kann auch als Basis für weitere Software dienen.

Objective-C · AppKit · TextKit

Loqbooq

Loqbooq icon

In allen Arbeitsbereichen sind Entscheidungen wichtig für den Weitergang von Projekten und Ideen. Nicht erst seit zunehmend hybriden Arbeitsmodellen und weltweit agierenden Teams ist das eine besondere Herausforderung. Um Entscheidungen gemeinschaftlich zu treffen und alle zu involvieren und zu informieren, haben wir Loqbooq entwickelt.

Loqbooq ist eine Web-Applikation zur einfachen und dauerhaften Protokollierung und Dokumentation von Entscheidungen in Teams sowie mit externen Partner:innen und Stakeholder:innen. Um die Entscheidungen in die Arbeitsabläufe und tagtägliche Kommunikation einzubinden gibt es neben der Web App auch Integrationen für Slack und Webex.

PHP · Laravel · AlpineJS · LiveWire · Slack API

Incipit Search

Incipit Search icon

Die Suche nach Musik ist ein spannendes Forschungs- und Entwicklungsfeld mit unterschiedlichen Ansätzen. Vor allem stellt sich dabei die Frage der Annotation und Kodierung, um Musik durchsuchbar zu machen.

Mit IncipitSearch haben wir ein Portal zur Melodien-Suche in Sammlungen klassischer Musik entwickelt. Es verbindet Inhalte verschiedener Musik-Editionen und Bibliotheken mittels Metadaten. Als Grundlage für die Durchsuchbarmachung der Noten dienen die Ontologie „Schema.org“ und der Bibliotheksstandard „Plaine & Easie Code“. Die Eingabe der Noten erfolgt über eine virtuelle Tastatur oder Kodierung.

Entstanden im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes an der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur.

PHP · JavaScript · Slim

Informationsportal für NFDI4Culture

Informationsportal für NFDI4Culture icon

Digitalisierung in Wissenschaft und Forschung findet an vielen Instituten und in unterschiedlichen Projekten statt. Diese verschiedenen Bestrebungen zu bündeln ist das Ziel der vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Nationalen Forschungsdaten-Infrastruktur.

Julius hat das Konsortium für Forschungsdaten zu materiellen und immateriellen Kulturgütern (NFDI4Culture) beim Erstellen eines Informationsportals bei der Backend-Programmierung mit TYPO3 unterstützt und dabei mit einem Team aus Wissenschaftler:innen und einer Digital-Agentur zusammengearbeitet.

PHP · TYPO3 · Slim

Quellensammlung zur Geschichte der Sozialpolitik

Quellensammlung zur Geschichte der Sozialpolitik icon

Wissenschaftliche Sammlungen und Quellen erscheinen nicht nur als mehrbändige Werke, sondern auch als digitale Editionen. Dies gilt auch für die Quellensammlung zur Geschichte der deutschen Sozialpolitik und der Entstehung des deutschen Sozialstaats an der Universität Kassel. Anna hat in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Wissenschaftler:innen und Entwickler:innen eine digitale Edition der Quellensammlung realisiert.

Bereiche: Datenverarbeitung und -kodierung sowie Frontend- und Backend-Entwicklung mit XML/XSLT, PHP, TYPO3.

PHP · TYPO3 · XML/XSLT

UpMoji

UpMoji icon

Gewohnheitstracker helfen uns einen Überblick über unsere Gewohnheiten zu behalten und „dran zu bleiben“. Mit UpMoji haben wir eine Zähler-App entwickelt, mit der eigene Gewohnheiten mittels Emoji-Darstellung getrackt werden können.

UpMoji ist vollständig mit SwiftUI implementiert und verfügbar für iPhone und iPad.

SwiftUI · Swift · CloudKit

Macarons

Macarons icon

Mannschaftsgeist ist wichtig und entscheidend für jedes Team. Hybrid oder remote arbeitende Teams treffen sich jedoch nicht zufällig an der Kaffeemaschine. Wir haben daher mit Macarons eine minimalistische Chat Roulette App für Slack entwickelt, die automatisch zufällige Team-Mitglieder für ein lockeres Gespräch zusammenbringt.

Dafür muss Macarons nur einem Slack Channel hinzugefügt werden. Eingebaute Ice-Breaker Fragen sorgen für einen leichten Einstieg ins bessere Kennenlernen.

PHP · Laravel · Slack API · Tailwind CSS

Virtueller Rundgang durch einen UNESCO-Welterbe Dom

Virtueller Rundgang durch einen UNESCO-Welterbe Dom icon

Am schönsten ist es, Architektur und prunkvolle Gebäude direkt vor Ort zu bestaunen. Das gilt für touristische Reisen, aber auch für die Wissenschaft, wenn Raumeindrücke oder Anordnungen bedeutsam für die Interpretation von Quellen und Handlungen sind. Aber nicht immer ist es möglich vor Ort zu sein. Daher haben wir eine generische Software für virtuelle Rundgänge durch Kulturstätten entwickelt.

Eine Umsetzung ist ein virtueller Rundgang durch das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe Hildesheimer Dom, der Informationen zu Geschichte und Ausstattung bietet. Entstanden im Rahmen einer Forschungsprojektes der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur, wurde der Rundgang auch als Teil Teil einer Museums-Ausstellung gezeigt.

JavaScript · Three.js · TYPO3

Neugierig geworden?

Schreib uns!

Lass uns in einem kurzen Gespräch herausfinden, was wir für dich tun können.

Schreib uns einfach eine Mail an:
team@coding-friends.com

Vereinbare einen Termin!

Buch direkt einen Termin für ein kurzes Gespräch:

Illustration von zwei Coding Friends die mit einem Hologramm sprechen